Another Lens

Thoughts and Observations in India

OBAMA!!! January 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — anotherlens @ 11:44 am

It’s a little loud (you may be able to hear Wolf Blitzer in the background in the very echoey room), but other than that,  I think it’s a pretty good first video blog. Enjoy!

 

6 Responses to “OBAMA!!!”

  1. Matt Click Says:

    “Well, I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free! And I won’t forget the men [and women WTF] who died to bring that right to me!”

    Sorry. Had to be done.

    It is a exciting day in the U.S. Obama gave an air of readiness in his speech — like, y’know, let’s get the ball rolling, America. Time to sweep up Bush’s mess and get our country back on top, both economically and in the eyes of the rest of the world.

    Great vlog. Can’t wait for more.

  2. I agree 100% that this is a time for our generation to stand up and be proud. I have never felt proud to be an American until this day, and knowing that I cast my very first vote for Barack Obama fills me with such pride for my country. I guess this is what it feels like to actually LIKE your president, huh? I am so glad that our peers have finally shaken off their feelings of apathy and helplessness, and for once I feel like we actually can make a difference.

    “Nothing can stand in the way of the power of millions of voices calling for change.” – Barack Obama

  3. anotherlens Says:

    Matt: I knew that stupid song would come up when I said those words. lol. As far as him getting the ball rolling, I can’t wait for the day that I wake up and go to CNN.com and see that he’s done something long past-due. (e.g. close Guantanamo, repeal the Defense of Marriage Act, etc.)

    Kat: Seconded. I wonder though if that generation of apathy so strongly criticized is really ours. I don’t know about you, but I don’t know many politically/socially apathetic people–even those who didn’t go to college–in our generation. I don’t know about you, but every couple of ours (it was every few minutes) I’ll think “Barack Obama is my president.” It cures every bad mood. You should try it. 🙂

  4. Danny Says:

    Your very first words, “Happy Obama day” got me immediately. It made me laugh and want to smile, because I know you aren’t the only person thinking that. This isn’t just an inauguration, it’s a change.
    And while we should always be careful of hoping too much because there’s no guarantee that our heroes will live up to our dreams of them, you can’t help but love the idea of them actually making that difference. And with so many people’s hopes hanging on this, Obama doesn’t have much choice. It’s a lot of pressure and I don’t envy the man at all, but I’m thankful he’s willing to do it.
    For us. For all of our generation. And for this country.

  5. Nick Rogen Says:

    I remember a time when this person named Jessica wrote really sweat entries about India. Hmmm…maybe I’m just making things up. 🙂

    Like what was said above.

    Blog more.


Leave a Reply

